12th-19th October, 2014

Intensive Yoga Retreat

Roshan Palat

The Intensive Yoga retreat II at Deer Park commencing October 2014 will comprise of 5 sections or 5 Yogas.

I. Bhakti Yoga 

Yoga of passionate devotion
This is the foundational and most important Yoga-the Yoga of the Open Heart.
Bhakti Yoga module will be based on the Hymn to the 21 forms of Tara (an ancient 'Goddess'      from whose name is derived the word astra and star) . The Hymn to Tara,which will be sung in Sanskrit, will be transmitted to the retreatants on four levels: 1.Visualisation 2.Passion 3. Devotion and 4.Mentation 

II.Hatha Yoga 

Forceful-physical yoga of balance
Hatha means Sun and Moon as well as Physical/Forceful. The Sun is the primary energy supplier for all objects in our solar system including earth and our own bodies. The Moon,  Earth's only satellite has an enormous influence on our lymphatic and cerebral systems, similar to the effect it has on the vast oceans of our planet, in the form of tidal wave movements.
Through the physical practice of Hatha Yoga techniques, the body balances the effects of these solar and lunar energies within itself and learns to take in more energy from its environment to heal and transform itself. 
The body is the tool for evolution into higher planes of being and existence.
There are five sheaths or layers in the body-the physiological/ physical body, the energy-only body, the mind-only body, the focussed-mind-only body and the bliss-only body. All these five bodies,physical and non-physical, superimposed one on top of the other, are experienced and then made vigorous, strong, flexible and gradually free of imperfections using the physical techniques of Hatha Yoga. There will be two classical lineages of Hatha Yoga taught-Swami Sivanandas lineage and Sri Krishnamacharya's lineage.

III. Tantra (Kundalini) Yoga

Yoga of Consciousness expansion
Tantra means Continuum of Higher consciousness. This magical process happens quite simply by discarding the limitations of the conventional, everyday ego-mind and adopting a way of cognising/ perceiving, mentating and behaving, which is revolutionary and which leads to a constant expansion into higher states of consciousness.
Different tantric methods are used to achieve this explosive growth of identity and consciousness. Sound and mantra techniques, visualisation techniques, zoning 'in'and 'out' techniques and breathing techniques from the lineage of Tantra wisdom will be taught in this module.
This module is an introduction to the world and systems of Tantra and not meant for those who wish to take deeksha (initiation) into the kula (tantric lineage/ community) . Therefore tantric practices taught post-initiation will not be taught in this module.
Note: Those with epileptic seizures or past history of mood disorders need not attend this module of the course

IV. Patanjali Yoga Sutra (Raja Yoga)

The Royal yoga
The most sytematic of the ancient Yoga-s, MahaRishi Patanjali's Yoga sutras comprise of 6 hidden integrated Yoga-s.
These 6 Yoga-s are practiced to accomplish the state of absolution, the end of evolution.
We will concentrate on the view, the perspective of 4 of these Yogas in our reading of the Yoga sutras, namely,
Ashtanga Yoga (8 part yoga), Kriya Yoga (action yoga), Bhakti Yoga (passionate devotion yoga) and Uttara Yoga (higher stage yoga).
The practices of higher stage yoga like the samadhi-state practices will also be done outdoors during nature walks as well as on the night sky, moon, etc.
Practices of the Bhakti Yoga, Ashtanga Yoga and Kriya Yoga will be covered in our Bhakti Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Karma Yoga and Tantra Yoga modules, while in the Raja Yoga classes we will concetrate on the view that is to be kept in mind during these practices as well as in daily life.

Ultimately we are who we believe we are. And belief comes through consistent thought reinforcement. 
This is why we can use Raja Yoga to transform our character, our world view and our whole range of skills.
And so we interact completely differently with the world as compared to the past. We not  only see a different, a more joyous world, but the world also sees a different and more joyful us.

V. Karma Yoga

The Yoga of selfless service
By devoting our energy and time towards maintaining and sustaining our environment which in turn supports us, we give back to the world. The more we give, the less we want for ourselves. We gain true happiness in the happiness of others ans that is when we realise working for the benefit of others is always more rewarding, more joyous than the petty sense of working purely for ones own self.
We will move into this awareness with the activities of the Karma Yoga module like gardening, cooking,  helping the monastic community with their maintenance works,etc. Hopefully we will then we able to take this awareness back with us to our daily lives and jobs in different parts of the world and gift this awareness to others as well.

Though the Intensive Yoga retreats (I and II) have in common the 5 Yogas taught in 5 daily modules,  Intensive Yoga retreat I focusses more on the Yoga Sutra system of Patanjali (Raja Yoga), whereas Intensive Yoga retreat II focusses more on the Tantra Yoga meditation system (Kundalini-Laya Yoga)

Timing/ Daily Schedule

6:00 am-6:30 am- Bhakti Yoga 1
6:30-7:45 am- Hatha Yoga (Sivananda / Classic Static)
7:45 am-8:30 am-Breakfast
8:30 am-9:30 am-Raja Yoga 1
9:30am-10:30am-Karma Yoga 1
10:30 am-11:00am-Break
11:00am-12:30 pm-Tantra Yoga 1
12:45pm-1:30 pm-Lunch
1:30pm-2:30 pm-Break
2:30 pm-3:30 pm-Karma Yoga 2
3:45pm-4:45 pm-Raja Yoga 2
4:45 pm-6pm-Hatha Yoga 2 (Ashtanga-Vinyasa/ Classic Dynamic)
7:30-8:30 pm-Tantra Yoga 2
8:30-9:00 pm-Bhakti Yoga 2 and Sessions end for the day



About the teacher:
After being initiated by Yogacarya Rajendran in Kerala, Roshan left the law firm he was working in and proceeded to the Uttarkashi region of the Himalayas where he trained under Swami Ganeshwara Giri for 3 years in the esoteric tradition of Yogacara and Laya(kundalini) yoga. The hatha yoga tradition that Yogacarya Roshan teaches is based on the lineage of Swami Satyananda Saraswati and Swami Sivananda Saraswati in whose institutions he gained extensive training. Having taught Raja yoga and Hatha yoga for 8 years, Roshan arrived at Bir in 2012 to undertake studies in Mahayana buddhism under the general guidance of Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche.